Mount Carmel College Logo


The Mount Carmel College Board

In Tasmania all Catholic schools involve their communities in school decision-making. A Board of Management is one way in which members of the community are involved in their school’s planning and accountability.
The Board has responsibility for the financial management of the school, and is called to support the leadership of the Principal and staff in educational programs.

The functions of the Board fall into two categories:

  1. Financial and property management.
  2. Advice to school administration on a range of educational and managerial matters.

The Board has active involvement in the following areas:

  • Supporting the development of the Catholic ethos of the school
  • Supporting the Pastoral Care strategies
  • Promoting the school
  • Development of school policies in line with TCEC policies and other relevant guidelines
  • Establishing short and long-term goals of the school and strategic plans to achieve these goals
  • Developing Capital and Maintenance programs
  • Approving the annual statements and other regular financial reports including a review of the annual audit report
  • Reviewing and adopting the annual budgets and regular monitoring of the results including the Fees Collection, Discount and Remission Policy
  • Ensuring the school is implementing adequate system of internal financial control, together with appropriate monitoring of compliance activities
  • Ensuring buildings, properties and grounds are developed and maintained to provide a suitable environment for the learning process to flourish
  • Collaborating with the P & F Association on the expenditure of P & F levies or funds
  • Periodically informing the school community about the operations and performance of the school and its significant developments

In 2019, Mount Carmel College’s Board Members are:

Mrs Annie Abbott, Ms Yvonne Chaperon, Dr Timothy Jetson, Mrs Kerrie Loveluck, Sr Catherine Meese RSC, Fr Brian Nichols PP, Mrs Fiona Nolan, Mr David Ronaldson (Chair), Mrs Charmaine Stanton and Ms Catherine Vickers

The role of the Governing Council

The Archbishop of Hobart authorises the existence of all Catholic Education institutes in Tasmania. For each Archdiocesan College, the ultimate authority for the conduct of the College rests with the Roman Catholic Church Trust Corporation of the Archdiocese of Hobart, acting by delegated authority through an appointed Governing Council.
The Governing Council conducts the College in collegial partnership with the Board and the College Principal. The Governing Council’s role primarily is one of supporting and monitoring the operation of the College.

Members of the Mount Carmel College Governing Council are:

Most Rev. Julian Porteous (Archbishop of Hobart), Mr John Mula (Director – Tasmanian Catholic Education Office), Mr Tom Dorey (Executive Officer), Dr David Daintree, Mrs Elizabeth Jordan, Mr Peter Maloney, Mrs Carmel Mulcahy, Dr Helga Neidhart RSC, Mrs Fiona Nolan, Mrs Eve Prendergast, Miss Mary Preston and Mrs Jillian Smith.

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.